top of page

Febs - UPDATE

After recieving feedback from connor in class I realised the mistakes I made with a few things. The feedback included things like having a muddy kick, cymbals that are too harsh, a touch too much reverb on the vocals and the toms weren't breaking through.

Firstly in regards to the kick drum. Since I used a low pass filter to filer out spill, it removed the heavy beater sound that is present in the highend. I needed a bit of the high end in order to keep it un-muddied, so instead of cutting everything above 200Hz I had a band-cut, cut down the 200 - 2K section, keeping the beater sound prominent. The kick sounds much better and the muddiness is gone. I agree this needed attention, it wasn't up to scratch Connor also suggested that the cymbals were too harsh, so I reduced the boost I made on the overheads by 1.5dB and they sound a little less in-your-face. This was a little tweak that makes the cymbals fall into the mix a bit better. I didn't really think the cymbals were too harsh, but I think maybe my hearing has been dampened by years of listening to loud heavy metal, so this may be something I should consider in the future. The reverb on the vocals was also a tad too much, so I reduced the amount sent to the verb aux by about 2dB just to bring them back a tad. The vocals were very prominent in the mix so the amount of reverb I had on them stood out more than it should have. Something I should have taken into consideration. I also added a de esser on the vocal track just to get rid of that sibilance in the few words he says strongly. I didn't realise I needed one until Connor pointed it out, the few words that needs the de esser are towards the end of the song, and I guess this goes back to the linear way I mix. By the time I got to the end of the song 5 hours later I had gotten complacent with the vocals and missed it. And finally I added a boost to the low mids on the toms, just to help them have their own space and punch through the mix. I had already eq'd the toms and thought they sounded alright as is, but a little more boost to the low mids helped it punch through especially after the kick was eq'd. All these things made the mix sound much better, and especially helped with the drum sound.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page