top of page

A Plan For A Plan

Project: Recording Knives and other metal sounds

Equipment:

Rode VideoMe microphone

Zoom H6 (stereo attachment)

Headphones The objective of this recording session will be firstly to record some samples of the sounds I will be using in an upcoming project, but also to experiment and see just how good the Rode VideoMe attachment for phones and cameras really is.

The Rode VideoMe is a $100 piece of equipment that has interested me, because Rode has quite a good brand of microphones usually. This is a very cheap microphone considering but I wanted to see just how good/bad it really was. And also compare it to something that I know gets the job done well, the Zoom H6.

I will be acquiring these sounds from Easts Leagues Football Club kitchen, and with a variety of different chef knives, Pots, Pans and basically any other metal object I can find in that kitchen.

I'll first test multiple locations around the kitchen to see if there is too much verb, the kitchen is quite large, and probably not that good for location sounds, so I'll be using a room adjacent with carpeted floors and very little echo. I will be rigging up a mic stand with the iphone and the zoom mics by using some trusty old duct tape.

I'm hoping this will set me in the right direction with the sounds, and I wont have to bring the knives into the studio for recording.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page